I’m tired of activism. I did activism in college. I was an activist, and it didn’t work for me. It was me against something else, against the horrible world. The change I want to see goes beyond that conceptualization. It’s not about making something else be the way I want it to be, but finding and claiming my freedom that already exists. It’s an inner revolution, realizing my capacity for freedom. Once I’m on that path of understanding the powerlessness of boundaries, the inner and the outer revolutions are then one and the same.

from http://www.geocities.com/kk_abacus/ioaa/guactivism.html

“The key to understanding the role of the activist is self-sacrifice–the sacrifice of the self to ‘the cause’ which is seen as being separate from the self. This of course has nothing to do with real revolutionary activity which is the seizing of the self. Revolutionary martyrdom goes together with the identification of some cause separate from one’s own life–an action against capitalism which identifies capitalism as ‘out there’ in the City is fundamentally mistaken–the real power of capital is right here in our everyday lives–we re-create its power every day because capital is not a thing but a social relation between people (and hence classes) mediated by things.”

