I spent the morning in the garden, wet and cold. As I was sawing away on the roots of the kohlrabi (a bulbous vegetable with leaves growing off of it that looks like an upsidedown electrocuted octopus), I had a revelation. It just clicked suddenly in my mind, an understanding of how plants absorb Life energy from the Earth and the Air and Water and then pass that Life engery on to us when we eat it. Writing it out like this, I hear how hippie-dippie it seems… I don’t know how else to explain it. There’s all of the concrete nutrients and fibers and matter there, and they’re obviously (and rationally!) a part of it too. The “Life Energy” is the synergy of all that, working together to create and nourish Life… Aliveness.

Yet another reminder that Life is rooted in collaboration.

