Pax and I gave a polyamory workshop tonight at an anarchist infoshop called Better Than Television. I love that this is my contribution to the cultural happenings on Valentine’s Day, a holiday so entrenched in posession and obligation (though I’m sure there are some of you out there who have fantastic monogamous relationships and had a lovely time today).

It’s been awhile since I wrote about open relationships here — you can go back through the archives to last winter (Dec 03 and Jan 04) to read my rantings and retchings. It’s been quite a ride. And it continues… my relationship world is rich and complex and I’m being challenged in some beautiful ways to really be honest about what’s true for me.

We gave the workshop participants the address for this blog with promises of posting poly resources. Thanks to all of the folks who came to the workshop! I appreciated the self-reflection and emotional openness of so many people. Here’s an initial list of some things we mentioned right at the end.

The Ethical Slut, Dossie Easton and Catherine Liszt
Polyamory: Love Without Limits
, Deborah Anapol

Loving More Magazine

Network for a New Culture Summer Camp

if you’re interested in good poly fiction, we mentioned Stranger in a Strange Land, by Robert Heinlein. Many utopian fiction novels include some mention of open relationships. I just finished reading The Kin of Ata are Waiting For You, by Dorothy Bryant, which laid out a subtle poly assumption within the utopian culture.

Other books with poly themes include:
The Forbidden Tower
, Marion Zimmer Bradley
The Fifth Sacred Thing
, Starhawk
The Herod Experiment
, Robert Rimmer
Ecotopia
, Ernest Callenbach

other suggestions? Leave a comment!

“He who binds to himself a joy

Does the winged life destroy;

But he who kisses the joy as it flies

Lives in eternity’s sun rise.”

~ William Blake

Happy Valentine’s Day! Love with open arms…

