a quick snapshot:

I’m sitting in the office in front of a computer for hours, catching up on correspondence and wading through email task lists.  The window behind the computer looks out into the courtyard, where I’ve watched kids and communards play all afternoon in the sun and shadows.  I hear unintelligible wafts of noise and music through the open window; somewhere, someone must be playing a radio.

I leave the computer and walk outside to get a postage stamp from the main office in a nearby building.  As I open the door, I’m hit with sunlight and sound.  I see two of my friends sitting in the grass 50 feet away, playing guitar and accordion to a scattered group of people.  I go inside to get my stamp, and return outside, smiling about my life as I head back to the computer, listening now with more awareness to the music from my friends.

