I have a spark, and an idea.

Since giving birth in April, I’ve been thinking about training to become a doula, offering non-medical assistance to women during pregnancy, childbirth, and afterwards.  Doulas offer both emotional and practical support, and I’m brimming with ideas of ways I might serve women in this sacred journey.

A friend of mine who recently left Twin Oaks just told me that she’s begun a correspondence doula training course, and we talked about the power of doing the coursework together.  I looked at the course overview online, and got very excited.  Birth Arts International (BAI) takes a wholistic, mother-led approach to birth, using herbal medicine and the woman’s own wisdom as guides for care.

The website mentioned that scholarships are sometimes available, and I wrote this email:

> I’m writing to request a scholarship for the Doula Certification correspondence course.  I’m passionate about encouraging women to trust their bodies’ wisdom, using all their senses and letting go of embarrassment about natural body functions.  I teach a workshop about “body taboos” that encompasses anything from body odor to wrinkles — whatever the women in the group want to explore.  Becoming a doula feels like a natural extension of this work, especially since I’ve now had the experience of childbirth!  I’m a mom to a 5 month old girl, born at home with a midwife.  I was really disappointed with some of what my midwife did during the birth, and that strengthened my desire to serve other women in their births.

>

> I need a scholarship to help pay for the course because we live very simply and have no extra money beyond our monthly bills.  We grow a lot of our own food, and barter for things we can’t pay for.  If there’s a way I could serve BAI in exchange for the scholarship, I’d be happy to!  Program promotion and text editing are two possibilities that come to mind…

> Please let me know if you need more information from me.

>

> best wishes,

> tickledspirit

The next day I received a message from the program telling me that I had a scholarship for any of their programs I wanted to take!

The scholarship covers $100 of the $350 Doula Certification course.  In thinking through ways to get the rest of the money, I had an idea…

If 25 people each donated $10 towards this course, I’d be able to do it.  I mentioned this to several of my friends and family who immediately agreed.  Then I broadened my view, imagining that other friends will one day be in this same position of wanting something passionately, without the funds to pursue it.

So I offer this idea to you.  I’m calling it a Fund SWAP (Supporting Wishes And Passions).  $10 every now and then is nothing compared with a few hundred dollars at once.  If you feel inspired, please support me in doing this Doula Certification program.  When you have a project you need funding for, send an email describing the project to your friends and family (including me!), and give us the chance to fund your passion.

(I’m using PayPal for this endeavor — it seems the easiest and most convenient.  Clicking the “Donate” button will take you to a page where you’ll indicate how much you want to donate, by what method (if you don’t have a PayPal account, you can also use a credit card).  Or, if you want, you can send me a check in the mail!)

